Graha (Planets) And Aspects Of Their Governance

Surya is the soul of all (Aatman). Chandrama is the mind (Man-o-gati).

Mangal is one’s strength (bestower of power). Budha is speech-giver (Orater), while Guru confers Knowledge (Memory) and wealth. Sukra governs virility, vitality potency, while Shani denotes grief and intrinsic spirituality.

Planetary Status

The planets with a ‘royal’ status are Surya and Chandra (the only two planets that are visible 24/7 and makes the most powerful impact on everything that has life. Mangal is the Army chief (Commanding officer). Budha is the Heir-apparent (determining monetary benefit). The ministerial Grahas are Guru and Sukra. Shani is the warrior (Protector/Destroyer). Rahu and Ketu form the Graha Army.The Panchabhutas, space, air, fire, water and earth, are, respectively, governed by Guru, Shani, Mangal, Shukra and Budha.

Guna’s Of Graha

Rajasik Grahas – Shukra and Budha

Tamasik Grahas – Mangal and Shani.

Sattvik Grahas – Guru, Sun & Moon (luminaries)

Note – Luminaries are the planets which are source of light.

Gender Of The Grahas

Surya, Mangal and Guru are males 

Chandra and Shukra are females

While Budha and Shani are neuters

Complexion & Discription Of Grahas

Surya is blood-red in colour. Eyes are honey-coloured, square body. He is of

clean habits, bilious.Chandra is offwhite and of Tawny in complexion. Very

windy and phlegmatic. He is learned and has a round body. He has noble

looks and sweet speech, is fickle-minded and very lustful.Mangal is blood-

red, is fickle-minded, liberal, bilious, given to anger and has a thin waist and

thin physique. Budha is green in colour, Budha is endowed with an attractive physique and the capacity to use words with many meanings. He has a mix of

all the three humours.

Guru is Tawny, variegated, yellowish complexion. He has a big body, tawny

hair and tawny eyes, is phlegmatic, intelligent and learned in Shastras. Shukra is cream or offwhite in complexion. He is charming, has a splendourous physique, is excellent in disposition, has charming eyes, is a poet.Shani is

dark or slightly violet in complexion, has an emaciated and long physique, has tawny eyes, is windy in temperament, has big teeth, is indolent and lame and

has coarse hair.Rahu and Ketu are no planets, they are mentioned in many ancient scriptures (Mythology). They don’t have a physical body or appearance. They are just two different nodes of geometrical calculation- North node and South node.

Strength And Dignities Of Graha

Planets – Own Rashi – Exaltation point – Debilitation point – Moolatrikona

Sun – Leo – Aries (10°) – Libra (10°) – Leo

Moon – Cancer – Taurus (3º) – Scorpio (3º) – Taurus

Mars – Aries & Scorpio – Capricorn – (28°) – Cancer (28°) – Aries

Mercury – Gemini & Virgo – Virgo (15°) – Pisces (15°) – Virgo

Jupiter – Sagittarius & Pisces – Cancer (5°) – Capricorn (5°) – Sagittarius

Venus – Taurus & Libra – Pisces (279) – Virgo (27°) – Libra

Saturn – Capricorn & Aquarius – Libra (20°) – Ar (20°) – Aquarius

The North And South Nodes

In East – Budha and Guru.

In South – Surya and Mangal

Ketu – Scorpio – Sagittarius – Gemini – Pisces

Rahu – Aquarius – Gemini – Sagittarius – Virgo

In North – Chandra and Shukra are endowed with vigour.

In West – Saturn (Only graha that derives strength from west).

Time Of Planetary Strength

Strong during night – Chandra, Mangal and Shani Budha is perpetually strong 24/7 (day and night.)

Guru, Surya and Shukra are strong only in the daytime

Suggested Blogs

Science Of Hinduism And Western Scholars

The world Hinduism represents religion and philosophy,which originated in is one of those religions that constitute 16% of the world’s…..

The Significance Of Four"Divine Nights"

Astrology is referred to as a divine science, which depends upon constellations, sun signs and the position of the plants…  

Karma Kanda & The Essential Forms Of Puja

In the Vendas,there are 3 types of kandas viz. Karma kanda,jnana kanda and upasana kanda.Out of which,todaywe are going to discus…

Scroll to Top